top of page

My College Years: Part 1


I know my previous post talked of my disdain for college, but I figured I should probably explain how good my college years were first, so the next few posts will do that. To start, I was one of the lucky ones that had the ability to leave college debt free, largely due to my parents. My parents were fortunate enough to pay for my housing and education. That doesn't mean I didn't work, which I spent most of my summers, the majority of my Junior year, and part of my Senior year doing, but it did mean I didn't HAVE to work. My wife on the other hand was a nanny, an admin assistant, and babysat throughout college in order to pay for utilities and food, as well as come out of school with as little debt as possible.


Both of us went to University of Nevada, Reno, on the Western Undergraduate Exchange Program. The WUE program allowed us to pay essentially the same tuition as we would have at a California state school. Through those four years at school, we lived separately but in the same apartment complex. We were still young in our relationship so having separate places to sleep was perfect, but also being able to see how the other person lived was helpful to us. This made our schooling experience much better than if we had to do long distance for those four years.


We also lived within four hours of home, which is the perfect amount, so we never had to truly feel homesick or anything like that. The four hours was just the right amount of time to where we can go home if needed, but family would just swing by on a moment's notice. All in all, Reno was the perfect location from the Bay Area for us to grow up.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page