top of page

My College Years: Part 2 (Freshman Year)



I know I have talked about my wife going to college with me, but that wasn't the case freshman year. I declared early in my Senior year that I was going to be headed to Reno for schooling. This was before I found out a number of other people I knew would also be headed there. Unfortunately for me, my wife was going to stay behind and go to community college. As a side note, I know I wrote that college is a scam, but I actually think community college could provide a good opportunity, when done so with intention. If you just go to community college without a thought or direction, you will just spin your wheels for years. If you go with direction however, you can get in and get out all while not breaking the bank. Back to freshman year… My wife and I did long distance for this first year. We were able to make it work where we saw each other every few weekends. I didn't mind the drive back home as it wasnt long, I enjoyed my hometown, and I didn't mind getting away from the dorms.


One of the reasons I mentioned as to why I don't like college, is that most people are unsure of what they want to do with their lives. This was me. I was accepted to Reno as a criminal justice major, and switched to business before I even graduated high school. As a business major, your first two years are just general classes, so you don't have to choose what you are getting your degree in right away. It is almost as if they know you have no clue what you want to do, so they make you take classes that have nothing to do with your degree while you still figure it out. At the end of the day, colleges need to make money, and this is the best way for them to do that.


Some independence was gained, and responsibility was learned while away my freshman year, but not anything I couldn't have gained in other ways. If I were to offer advice to someone as an alternative to school, I would tell them to reach out to many small businesses in their area for a job. You don't need to like the position, or even the company for that matter, but it is important to start to learn responsibility and discipline. This will also help you gain experience in life. If you hate the job, good. You have now learned of a position, or company, or industry you don't like. If you like the job, even better. You either like it for the people, the industry, or the position that you are in. This will allow you to take the next alternative step towards a career/life you want to build.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page