top of page

The "Great" Scam


First controversial statement on this blog… I don’t think you should go to college.


I am one of the biggest college graduates, college haters out there. I studied at University of Nevada, Reno for four years and earned two degrees. I received a bachelor's degree in both Finance and Economics. Essentially, I was able to take three additional classes and gain a second degree for Economics, whereas I normally would have been just a Finance major with an emphasis in Econ. I will say, I enjoyed my Econ degree substantially more than my Finance one, but either way, I would still tell people not to go straight to college. The reason I am so anti college is for multiple reasons.

  1. People often don't know what they actually want to study, and just “go to college” as the next step.

  2. More often than not, some sort of debt is taken on for schooling, and this just starts everyone off on a bad foot.

  3. The VAST majority of careers do not need a college education. Unless your career of choice needs one, it may be worth looking into other routes.

  4. You will learn more on the job than you ever will in college.

  5. College degrees have diminished in value based upon what you pay, for the increase in pay you receive.

My thinking vastly changed in perspective when I received an internship my Junior into Senior year summer. The amount of information about general business I learned in the few short months was far greater than the amount I learned in four years of schooling. I realized that if I were to have spent four years hopping around different businesses and different departments in business, I would have received more real life education and career progression than college would have ever given me. That is why I recommend that people look into alternate paths to college.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page